the best baldwin

January 19, 2007 at 6:06 pm | Posted in tv:film | 1 Comment

“Do you like Phil Collins?”
“I have two ears and a heart, don’t I?”

—Jack Donaghy (Alec Baldwin) on 30 Rock

I recently read a description of Alec Baldwin as a character actor trapped in a leading man’s body*. I’ve always had a soft spot for him since Beetlejuice, one of the first movies I owned on video and Hunt for Red October, one of the first movies I saw on my own in a theater and a film I will always get caught up in if I catch it on tv.

His comedic roles in film have been underwhelming, but his appearances on SNL have been better than they are worse and the running gag about the competition between Alec Baldwin and Steve Martin for the title of most guest host appearances have been some of the most reliably outstanding bits on the show.
http://www.milkandcookies.com/links/55420/detail/
http://www.milkandcookies.com/article/3259/

Still, he is one of the best parts of 30 Rock, I’m not sure it would even work without him. Of all the television I watched in 2006 (alas, there was plenty), I’ve only been struck enough by two lines of dialogue to bother to write them down and they were both by his character. (above, and regarding Kevin, the oblivious, propitious page: “In five years we’ll either be working for him… or dead by his hand.”

* turns out he’s not the only one… google

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Character actors who are trapped in a leading man’s body: Kevin Bacon, Johnny Depp, George Clooney, Joseph Fiennes. (via quarterempty) […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

